Home » empathy » “By the Way, I’m an Accountant”

“By the Way, I’m an Accountant”


“So, that field trip you signed up to be a volunteer on…you might not get to go.”

“Why not?”

“Well, over 50 parents signed up and only 20 can go. There’s going to be a raffle to see who can go. If you are one of the winners you have to drive your own car. By the way, I’m an accountant.”

IMG_20131027_200936

“An accountant? What about the health inspector job? That’s the one you wanted, right? You did your resume and interviewed for the health inspector job?”

“I know. I didn’t even list the accountant job down as one of my other choices.”

“Well, how many of these health inspector jobs were there?”

“Five.”

“FIVE jobs?! And you can’t even get one of them? Do you need me to break any knee caps?!”

Laughing, she said “No, dad. The accountant job will be fine. It’s fine.”

“OK, I guess I’ll let your friends keep their knee caps…”

*FLASHBACK to 1989*

Little 10 year-old Jeremy turns in his application for Exchange City. For his job choice, he picks Bank President. His teacher banked at the same bank his mom worked at. Jeremy thought he had the Bank President job locked down. Well, until he looked down at his piece of paper that read “Bank Teller.”

Who got Bank President, you ask? Why, none other than Melanie Sims. She was tall, beautiful, had long hair, and apparently seemed more “Presidential” than Jeremy.

Then the actual field trip to Exchange City happened. Jeremy, sitting behind the teller stand, looking at Melanie all dressed up, realized something.

Being a teller ain’t all that bad. I’m sure being an accountant won’t be that bad either…

One thought on ““By the Way, I’m an Accountant”

Leave a Reply

